Comedy of Errors: Home Edition
02.09.2007 ~~ 1:01 pm

My days have been flying by. It's so surreal. I used to wonder what was so difficult about being a stay-at-home-mother... I mean, I had PPD and suffered from feeling isolated and such, but I never felt that frazzledness.
Now I know. I'm constantly on the go. Driving the children around, running errands, volunteering in classrooms... the additional paperwork is unbelievable. I have piles of papers all over the place. The Little Wonderful One needs X,Y, and Z for 100th Day, Scooter needs Q, R, and S for the school carnival. And the birthday parties! They were really out of control for awhile. The Little Wonderful one had like, six parties to go to in December--three in one weekend! Oy. He was so busy with hockey and going to everyone else's birthday parties, we didn't have time to schedule his own party. Argh.
He's six now, by the way. Can you believe it? I can't. Where did four and five go? Three, too, for that matter? Scooter's getting ready to turn five and start kindergarten next fall. It's SUPER EXCITING, but so sad.
The selfish part of me is doing a crazy Snoopydance of joy at the thought of having both boys in school full time and just having Femme Fatale here with me (we get another whole year together before she starts school)... the less selfish part wants to curl up in a ball and weep. Where did this time go?
We went to the preschool carnival last night... The Little Wonderful One spotted a friend and ran off with him for the entire evening. It was liberating and crushing, all at the same time. I think it's great that he's growing up, that he has friends, that he's learning how to handle himself in public/away from me. But wow, he's only six, you know? Granted, at six, I had to get myself to the school bus on time--and navigate the city bus system if I didn't make it--and take care of myself after school until my mother got home. So it's not that he's too young for responsibility. I'm just surprised that he's become independent seemingly overnight. Scooter and his buddies will surely be the same way next year.

In other news, we've decided to sell our house. Well... we decided to sell, got discouraged by a realtor, and are now planning some serious renovation to tide us over until we sell. The problem is, the market is sucking so badly, we have doubts that we'll be able to unload this damned white elephant for anything more than our current mortgage amount. Which... fine. I don't even really care. No down payment? Whatever. Except, I'm sure we're going to be on the market for a lonnnnnnng time, even at that super-cheap rate. There's houses that are twice the size of ours, listed for less than we'd like to get, and they're not selling. So, yeah. We're planning to lift the house and dig a basement. It'll almost double our square footage, give us much-needed space, and hopfully raise the value of our property a bit. Unfortunately, the layout of the main (only) floor is so awful, we'll probably want to change that, too, and we really need to have that planned out before doing the basement and running the plumbing. I don't even know where to begin with that. Do I call in an architect, do I just make my own sketches? Mr. Gin is never here, so I'm pretty much on my own with this. The worst part is, I don't even know who to call to even ask who to call about this. I'm not so good with the planning, you know? I tend to rush in to the demolition portion of the project, without really thinking about what happens after I've removed the stove or the walls or the bath tub. (I don't dare do that this time, haha.)
I guess I'll just consult the yellow pages? What better way to begin what is bound to be a delicious comedy of errors?

What do you think? (0)

<< // >>
Play Piercing Mildred! // Buy some Adagio Tea!